Since I usually have Monday's off I don't usually hate them, even though I have been feeling an impending sense of anxiety for the past few days because I am starting to get backed up on work and the more performing I do the less I do work that actually pays me. So that stress never really leaves.
But today was mainly lovely, Justin Gillman was in town with Danielle Martino, both of whom I did the BFA program with at UCSB. Last night we went to dinner (paid courtesy of Columbia University, thanks!) and today I went to the 3rd year Showcase for Columbia University MFA candidates which Justin was managing.
It was pretty underwhelmed for the most part by the acting and felt that the majority of their pieces were ill-suited for their audience. There were some standouts of course, one of which was a monologue written by Naomi Iizuka which was great because she was the head of the playwrighting department at UCSB while I was there. I babysat her son once. Well, I went and watched TV with Chris Pena while he was watching the baby. So I guess it counts.
The best part was spending time with Justin and Danielle and Shaun Hart, who also had the decency to show up. He is at the USC acting MFA program so I never see him anymore. It's great to see everyone is doing so well.
I checked my eligibility on the SAG website and I am officially eligible. Woohooo. now if I only had those two grand....
The rest of the night I have been memorizing lines like an insane person. Sometimes I just don't have the brainpower to do so. Especially the prose, which is what the majority of my lines in the first half of the play consist of. But I have those down now and when I am finished watching 24 I will go memorize the verse lines. I promise I will. I have to. It's the deadline tomorrow and I have work all day. Le sigh. I can't believe we open in 3 weeks.
Didn't get cast in Agamemnon, sad because I would have loved to do such a cool site specific play, but good because Ty and I have decided there was a pretty janky feel to the overall project. Not too professional. With the exception of the choreographer, Sarah Silkin, who actually seems pretty cool. Oh well. Move on to the next.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Don't feel too bad... Armageddon was a terrible movie, and I doubt it'll be much better on stage ;-)
ReplyDelete