Tuesday, October 27, 2009

I'M FUCKING SHOCKED...not.

Variety is reporting that SAG has released statistics regarding diversity within the entertainment community. As expected, they are pretty dismal. Unexpectedly, they are worse than in the past 2 years.

In a statement released by SAG president Ken Howard, “The diverse and multicultural world we live in today is still not accurately reflected in the portrayals we see on the screen,” DUH. “We will continue to work with producers, hiring executives and industry professionals in accurately portraying the American scene by ensuring equal access to employment opportunities for all of our members.”

The statistics are as follows:

Minority Roles were at their highest in 2007 at 29.3% but have dropped this past year to 27.5%

Breakdown for film/television roles:
72.5% Caucasian
13.3% African-American
6.4% Latino-Hispanic
3.8 Asian-Pacific Islander
0.3% Native American
3.8% other-unknown.

OUCH.

It's hard to know where I stand here. One of my main problems is that because I am so ethnically ambiguous I am not really cast-able unless there is some tailor made part or something similar. I go to auditions looking for a Latina or Hispanic actress and I don't fit the description. But in a White actress audition there is something not quite white enough about me.

Blah.

This is one of the aspects of being an actor that I hate thinking about and in general don't bother with. But when faced with numbers like that it's hard not to take a minute to think about it. I don't really know where I fit in. I always thought my ambiguity was an asset, in life and in my work, and for the most part I do. But it does complicate things on occasion.


Monday, October 26, 2009

LOVE THIS TRICK... and other stuff





Oh Emma Watson.

Not only are you lovely, but you seem to be quite smart. Your acting skills may still have a way to go, but I applaud your choices, intelligence, and fierce style.


So it seems I totally sucked at trying to blog more often this week. I just wake up so grumpy and it basically takes me all morning to wake up enough to just go to work or go to lunch and by the time I get back from work I am too tired to turn my brain on to write.
Will do better this week.



I am majorly bummed because I had tickets to go see Ennio Morricone tonight at the Hollywood Bowl with my family. He is basically my favorite film composer and I was really looking forward to going to the bowl, which I haven't been able to go to all year, and that is pretty much sacrilige for me. I even missed the Sound Of Music Sing-Along! And that is just wrong.

Point of the story - the show was cancelled. I hope everything is ok.






Couldn't pick my favorite.



I think I am going to be able to have new headshots by the holiday season. Fingers crossed as I am trying to get things to happen.



On another note, I have failed miserably yet again in coming up with a Halloween costume. Originality in this subject just does not seem to be my strong suit. I'm ok with that, I'll go as my beloved Audrey yet again. If only I could be as stunning as Miss Holly GoLightly.

I will try my best.





What a stupid holiday.
Dia de Los Muertos > Halloween.



Monday, October 19, 2009

Flighty






I've just sucked at posting lately! Every day I think today I'm gonna write but I get distracted, or exhausted at work and then it never happens.! 10 days! That's not good, this writing, as silly as it may seem, actually helps me to keep my brain on track for what I need to be doing or even just thinking about my goals, process, etc. Even if I am not doing anything at the moment. Probably even more necessary when I am not doing things because I have the time to research artists that I admire, watch films, go to shows, but also think about the direction I want to head and the steps I need to take to get there. Also, I really am trying hard to not have this be some flighty, flaky, quickly abandoned thing I do, like so many things. I fight my flightiness every day.

That being said, I've pretty much done nothing other than hang around my new apartment with Mae or be at work. I'm still trying to get the hang of this restaurant thing. I know it's an actor staple, but I'm not sure if it's going to be a Lourdes staple. It's physically exhausting as well as stressful, and you wouldn't think that a job that entails walking people to a table should be stressful, but it is. Not sure if it's what I need in my life at this moment. I guess the beauty of my life at this moment is that I can pretty much do whatever I want, so long as I can somehow pay the rent each month. I don't feel tied to anything in particular and that is just a lovely freedom to have.

I went to a show at UCB (Upright Citizens Brigade) last week with Leigh, and it was great. I live right up the street from UCB so I hope to be going more often. Leigh takes classes there and I would absolutely love to in the near future as well. It seems like a nice little community as well as good training. Improv has always been something I loathe/fear intensely so I think it would be a good push for myself and making new friends is also always neat and something I kind of have to push myself to do.

Leigh's teacher named Charlie did about 4o minutes of standup and he was incredibly funny and charismatic. Too bad the sketch group that went after them was HORRIFIC. We let it slide though because it was a fun evening. There are a few cute little bars next to it so we ate some fancy smores and then Leigh went back to another show and I joined the boys at the midnight showing of Where The Wild Things Are. Beautiful film. Obviously I cried. I just love Spike Jonze.

I am going to make an effort to post something every day this week. I certainly have enough on my mind as well as pictures of ladies that I love and admire and their info that i'd love to research so I will get on that.

I am also trying to get myself to start P90X this week, after literally months of saying I was going to do it. But this is the week. right? It's just been so hot and since it's finally nice and grey out I will honestly try this week. It's just so much easier to starve myself. Especially when I can't afford food.

I think Mae and I are gonna walk to the costume store today and see if I can find anything for Halloween. I am not one of those individuals who loves to dress up, I think mainly because A. I think dressing up like a whore in some stupid theme is lame, B. I dress up for a living and C. I'm an adult.

Sometimes I will admit it's fun, but I am TERRIBLE at coming up with original costume ideas. For the past three years I've drawn whiskers on my face and been a cat. Anyone have any ideas? So far the only thing I have come up with is to go as my dog. Which is great in theory, but may be difficult in practice unless I can find some kind of Yeti costume and transform it to look like a small, snobby puppy.



I think if Mae had a thought bubble it would often say "Sigh...this bitch."



Friday, October 9, 2009

Well!

This has been quite the week.

New home, birthday, working tons, trying to get Maeby adjusted to new apartment.

Everything else has sort of taken a backseat at the moment. And probably will for a bit longer. I'm having a good time though. I just need to figure out how to balance this need to work alot, because obviously I need money to survive, but also not over do it at the restaurant and make sure I have time not only to audition and take classes, but also to feel like a normal human. I mean, I'm not a career hostess, I'd rather not spend all my time at the restaurant. And at the moment I kind of do. But I think that after this month, and maybe the next, I can cut down my hours and balance it a bit better with nanny jobs and my life. Learning I guess.

Last night I actually had a night off work and was dying to go to Christine Ebersole's cabaret show in Costa Mesa and even though I left almost TWO HOURS before the show, I still missed it!
I'm not used to the fwys on this side of town and I sat in traffic the entire time. I was so irritated. Lesson Learned. I adore Christine Ebersole and I was looking forward to spending the evening with my friends Lovelle, Erwin and FrankIII. oh well. C'est la vie.

Christine Ebersole as Little Edie does not approve: